Sound Waves and Speirbheans- Eleanor

I got some great sounds over the last week …the feet tapping rhythms of a talented staff member…a champion dancer.. who kindly allowed me to record on his time off.
On Sunday, I went to the wild Atlantic coast up near the White Strand to record the waves…but, I nearly fell over the cliff in my enthusiasm and I don’t know if I got any sfx’s.
I could of course record it off the internet..if I knew how!…but I prefer authenticity. I also went to find Gleann na gCaor, an evocative place name , described to me by a resident…it translates as Glen of the Berries…and he has wonderful stories of youthful days exploring…he told me of a ‘speirbhean’ (fairy woman) who he believed guided him home when lost in fog in the glen. Basis for a storyline forming in my mind.
I also recorded songs by Monica Morgan, whose singing is redolent of Co.Clare and residents and staff alike adore her singing.
Rach is going to see what worked on the machine…so I can only wait..with fingers crossed.
Interviewed residents to give Rach some material for memory wall/Now and then booklets.
Stormy day…but we are ‘going well’

Screenshot 2018-11-29 20.39.53

This beautiful study of shoes by Van Gogh shoes speaks to me of how objects can speak volumes about people. It is something maybe worthy of exploration with residents as we progress on our journey through The Circle of Life…

Leave a comment